Abhishek Das wins international chess tournament

11:56 AM, Sunday, July 24th, 2011

Abhishek DasMangalore : Abhishek Das appeared as the champion in the Indian Overseas Bank Fifth Mangalore FIDE Rated Open International Chess Tournament 2011 that concluded Radhakrishna Temple Hall on July 23 Saturday.
Das appeared as the winner after defeating Konguvel. Suvrajit Saha, Shyam Nikhil, and Thejkumar bagged the second place with 9 points each. Laxman beat Ravi Hegde to bag the third place with 8 points. While Shriram Sarja won against Thipsay, the match between Hemant Sharma and Shriram Jha of Delhi ended in a match.
Chief guest M. Narendra, the CMD of IOB handed over the prizes among the winners.
During the occasion, The four achievers of Special Olympics 2011, which was held in Athens, Greece—Dhanya S. Rao of Chetana Bala Vikasa Kendra, Royston Pinto of St. Agnes Special School, Anil Mendonca of St. Agnes Special School and Pramila Pinto of Manasa Rehabilitation and Training Centre at Pamboor were also felicitated on the occasion.
Deputy speaker N. Yogish Bhat, Police commissioner Seemanth Kumar Singh, Z P president K. T. Shailaja Bhat, and others were present.
Organizing secretary MS Gururaj delivered the welcome address, and Lydia D’Cunha proposed the vote of thanks.

Imporatant Results after final Round (Round 11)

Bo. Title Name Club Pts Res. Pts Title Name IRtg Club
1 IM Suvrajit Saha WB 9 drew with 9 IM Shyam Nikil P 2398 TN
2 IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy TN 8 lost to   Abhishek Das 2340 SWRly
3 IM Saptarshi Roy Rly 8 lost to 9 IM Thejkumar M  S 2448 SWRly
4 IM Shivananda B S KAR drew with   Stany G A 2435 KAR
5 IM Sangma Rahul DEL beat 8 IM Nitin S 2365 TN
6 IM Anwesh Upadhyaya ORI lost to   Karthikeyan Murali 2122 TN
7   Premnath R TN lost to IM Himanshu Sharma 2428 HAR
8 IM Prakash G B IB 8 drew with 8   Matta Vinay Kumar 2295 Andra Bank
9   Shreyansh Daklia CHGR lost to IM Praveen Kumar C 2325 ICF
10 GM Laxman R R ICF 8 beat 7 IM Hegde Ravi Gopal 2215 KAR
11 GM Thipsay Praveen M MAH 8 beat 7   Sriram Sarja 2215 KAR
12 IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh R TN 8 beat 7   Chattarjee Laltu 2202 WB
13   Hemant Sharma (del) DEL drew with GM Sriram Jha 2421 DEL
14 WGM Ramaswamy Aarthie A I 8 beat 7 IM Swapnil S  Dhopade 2414 MAH
15 FM Maheswaran P TN drew with IM Rathnakaran K 2410 KER
16 IM Karthikeyan P TN 8 beat 7   Santu Mondal 2193 W B
17   Suresh Kumar T J ICF drew with   Navin Kanna T U 2355 TN
18   Pradip Ghosh WB drew with IM Lahiri Atanu 2349 LIC
19   Phoobalan P ICF 8 beat 7   Cholleti Sahajasri 2023 Ap
20   Surendran N T N 7 lost to 8   Krishna C R G 2330 AP



Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply