DK poll turnout of 74.91 per cent: DC Harsh Gupta

5:45 PM, Monday, May 6th, 2013
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Harsha GuptaMangalore : Deputy Commissioner of Dakshina Kannada Harsh Gupta said that total number of 11,18,025 voters exercised their franchise in the district with the turnout of 74.91 per cent in the Assembly elections.

Speaking at the press meet held at DC office on May 6, Monday, he said that compared to the 2008 Assembly elections, the recent election has increased the voter turnout by 1.83 per cent.

He said that the voting process functioned smoothly throughout the district. The technical problems erupted and the nine Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were replaced election, whereas eight others were replaced during elections to avoid disruption.

He also said that Ranipura polling station (38A) in Mangalore constituency has recorded highest voting percentage of 95.23, while Bala (155) in Moodbidri constituency recorded the lowest of 41.04 percentages.

Around 74.59 % men and 74.38 % women turned out to vote in the district, while a total number of 81 voters exercised the NOTA (None of the Above) vote option in the district, he added.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply