Bihar : NDA leading in 129 seats

Tuesday, November 10th, 2020
Narendra modi

Patna : A Bihar election campaign that hinged on campaigning by Prime Minister Narendra Modi seems to have paid off for the BJP, which is set to emerge as the single-largest party. This demotes its ally, Nitish Kumar of the JDU, who is seeking a fourth term as Chief Minister, to second position in the […]

BJP Leads In Sira, RR Nagar Assembly seats

Tuesday, November 10th, 2020

Bengaluru : The Election Commission has stated that BJP seems to be leading in the in RR Nagar and Sira Assembly seats of the State. While the results may not have a major impact on the BJP leadership in the State government, the stakes seem to be high for Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa as it would […]

EC issues showcause notice to BJP MP Parvesh Verma for controversial statement

Wednesday, January 29th, 2020

New Delhi : The Election Commission on Wednesday, January 29 issued a show-cause notice to BJP MP Parvesh Verma for his controversial statement, saying prime facie the remarks had the potential of disturbing harmony. The EC asked him to respond to the notice before noon on Thursday. It said if he fails to respond, the […]

Karnataka bypolls : Election Commission seizes 53 pressure cookers from Hoskote

Tuesday, November 19th, 2019

Bengaluru :  The Election Commission flying squad conducted a raid in poll-bound Hoskote in Bangalore Rural district and seized 53 pressure cookers from a house. As per the sources the raid was conducted on Monday, November 18 after receiving information that the cookers were being distributed to the voters and are being stored in a […]

Bypolls to 15 Karnataka assembly seats on Dec 5 will be held

Saturday, September 28th, 2019

Bengaluru : The bypolls to 15 Karnataka seats, which the Election Commission had decided to defer, will now be held on December 5, according to a new notification issued on Friday. The counting will take place on December 9. Citing proceedings in the Supreme Court on Thursday regarding the pleas filed by 17 disqualified MLAs […]

Election Commission has nothing to do with disqualification : Dinesh Gundu Rao

Tuesday, September 24th, 2019

Bengaluru : The Election Commission has nothing to do with the disqualification of the rebel legislators, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president Dinesh Gundu Rao said on Monday. The Congress is determined to win the bypolls to all the 15 Assembly constituencies to exact revenge on the rebel MLAs. “Our lawyers will argue before the […]

EC ordered to conduct inspection of the voters’ list

Monday, September 16th, 2019

Mangaluru : As per the orders of the Election Commission (EC) Deputy commissioner Sindhu B Rupesh urged people to verify their names in the voters’ list. Speaking to media here on Monday, September 16, Sindhu Rupesh said, inspection of voters list and revision of the same, which will be conducted from September 1 to October 15. […]

Anganwadi workers stage protest in front of the DC office

Saturday, October 6th, 2018

Mangaluru: Anganavadi workers staged a protest in front of the DC office on October 5, Friday. workers who had discharged duties as booth level officers during elections to condemn the apathy of the Election Commission in disbursing their travel allowance and daily allowance. Members and office bearers of Anganavadi Workers Association participated in the protest […]

Officers allowed people to vote without any ID proofs : U T Khader

Monday, May 14th, 2018

Mangaluru: A day After of election Congress leader U T Khader confident on his win in the election at Ullal constituency and also of Congress winning all the eight constituencies in Dakshina Kannada. Addressing the press on Monday, May 14 he said, “I am sure that Congress will win all the 8 constituencies in Dakshina […]

Election Commission released revised voter turnout data

Monday, May 14th, 2018

Mangaluru : The Election Commission has revised voter turnout data in Saturday’s elections to the Assembly wherein 78.42% of voters came to exercise their franchise in Dakshina Kannada and 78.85% in Udupi districts as against Saturday evening’s figures of 77.63 % and 78 %, respectively. Voters turned up in large numbers compared to the 2013 […]