The 14th Independence Day Football Tournament 2010 in City begins today

6:48 PM, Saturday, July 24th, 2010
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Mangalore : Something like 155 teams (of 11 players) and 2000 kickers of soccer will participate in the DK Football Association’s 23 day long Independence Day celebrations Tournament of 2010, which has started on Saturday, July 24 with fanfare, expectations, decorations and a lot of foot ball play on view here in Mangalore near Nehru Maidan and close to Town hall. Eager spectators rush to the site.

This time, 10 all girls’ teams are taking part in this Tournament as a novelty. Rest assured that there are no national soccer teams of girls in FIFA Cricket and other games (boxing, racing, badminton, volleyball etc.) have them in India, also weight lifting.

The Independence Cup matches started in 1997. Last year 130 teams were in the contests. From primary schools to Colleges and girls are in the fray today. Finals will be held on 15th  August 2010. The budget of this extravagance is Rs. 1.50 lakhs.

Mayor Rajani Dugganna Inaugurated the Football Tournament. Nagendra Pai Deputy Genral Manager of Corporation Bank Presided over the Function, Corporater Divakar Pandeshwar, Vijaya Suvarna, Mohammaed Hussain Bolar, D.M. Aslam President of Dakshina Kannada Football Association, Mastan Ahmad, A.K. Niyaz of A K Board present on the occation


Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply