The Mayor next: Who is there?

6:05 PM, Thursday, February 3rd, 2011
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Rajani DuggannaMangalore: Mayor Rajani Dugganna is retiring on Feb.21, and the number of candidates for the post from BJP is on the rise among backward classes.
Ganesh Hosabettu got the first chance as belonging to backward ‘A’ class, and Shanker Bhat succeeded him from common category as a senior man (Brahmin). Presently in the third term, a woman had to be chosen, so Rajni made the grade. All these were from DK in charge minister Krishna Palemar’s constituency with his blessings. The procedure is unlikely to change with Premanand Shetty being the apple of the eye of ports Minister, but the govt. has not disclosed the category which is entitled for such selection. There is a candidate (sole) from scheduled caste /tribe, who may take over as Mayor although women in that category were more in number. But if it is Backward ‘B’ category that is selected, there are several Shettys in contest.
It depends upon him, who Palemar is pleased to back up as the winning horse in this race, to be Mayor next. The Deputy Speaker is not in the picture.


Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply