The Young Mens’ Bovi Association, celebrated 86th Anniversary

11:29 AM, Tuesday, December 13th, 2022

Mumbai: About a century ago, the costal Karnataka and Kasaragod district Kannadigas migrated to Mumbai and settled in Mumbai’s Fort area and started earning for their livelihood. To bring the community people under one room they established the unity of the community under the name and style “Young Mens’ Bovi Association” in Mumbai about 86 years ago, said Dr. Virar Shankar Shetty, President of Maharashtra Hotels Association.

The 86 Annual day celebration of YMBA was held on 11.12.2022 at Narayana Guru Sabhagriha of Billava Bhawan, Santacruz East, Mumbai under the presidentship of A K Yashwant.

Continuing his speech Dr. Virar Shankar Shetty, who was the chief guest said, this community is having three schools in their native place. The seniors of the community along with fishing also given importance for education and made their present generation rich in educational field also.
He said that the people of the Bovi (Moya) community are not only talented but brave enough to brave the waves of the sea.

Harish G. Amin president of Billavara Association, who was present as the guest of honour. Amin said that this organization was established before independence and completed 86 years. Various achievers in the society are honored today. He wished the community’s dream of a community hall to be fulfilled as soon as possible.

Taranath Uchil, Vice president welcomed the guests, while Krupakar Kumble and Suraj Uchil, introduced the guests. General Secretary Kishore Udyawar was briefed about the activities of YMBA.

Addressing the audiences Yashwant A.K. president of YMBA said that the younger generation of the society should be active in all the programs of the association and strengthen the organization by working together and strengthen the unity of YMBA.

Achievers in various field Dr. Dhanraj N Uchil, Vishwaraj N Mutta, Anil Kumar (Master), Mrs. Neeta Parker, Manoj S. Ail, and Dheeraj B. Udyavar was honored by all the dignitaries present on the stage.

Namitha Uchilkar, Jayalakshmi Shiriya, Abhishita Kasaragod, Kumar K Udyavar, Meenakshi Uchilkar read the felicitation letter. Anil Kumar (Master), Mrs. Neeta Parker and Dheeraj B.Udyavar spoke and extended their sincere thanks to YMBA. Educational award was distributed to the students present.

The ceremony was inaugurated in the morning by Ravindra N Vithal and Vidya R Vithal of Mira Road by lighting a lamp.

The ceremony was inaugurated in the morning by businessmen Ravindra N Vithal and Vidya R Vithal of Mira Road by lighting a lamp.

Hon. President of Mogaveera Mahajana Seva Sangh Bagwadi Hobali Suresh Kanchan and wellknown businessman K. D. Shetty extended their best wishes to YMBA for celebrating 86th Annual day.

Various cultural programs were held by the children and elders of the YMBA and the artists of the community who came from the native place.

Subhash Chandra Uchil, Krupakara K. Kumble, Namita S Uchilkar, Chandra Vamanjur, Harish Udyawar, Shailesh Udyawar, Udyawar, Subhash Shiria, Yashoda Bhattappadi and othereswere present. The program was compared by Sudesh Udyawar, Divya Udyawar, Veekshit Udyawar, Khushi Shiriya, Suraj Uchil.

By : Ishwar M. Ail

Pic: Dinesh Kulal

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply