University College Mangalore retains NAAC ‘A’ grade

9:53 PM, Tuesday, February 7th, 2023


Mangaluru: University College Mangalore, Hampanakatte has retained the “A” grade with a CGPA score of 3.03 in the fourth round of academic evaluation by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), which determines the quality of higher education institutions.

The college had secured “B++” grade in the first round of evaluation held in 2004. Later, the college, which had received “A” grade in 2010, retained it in the third round of evaluation in 2016. In the fourth round of evaluation held in this February 1 and 2nd, Odisha University former vice chancellor Dr. Harihara Hota lead the committee, which thoroughly studied the educational performance and supplementary facilities of the college and expressed its appreciation. Maharashtra Ambedkar University Department of Commerce Head Dr. Walmik Sarwade was the coordinating member and Agra Post Graduate Women’s College Principal of Dr. Yashodhara Sharma was the member.

Under the guidance of Principal Dr. Anasuya Rai and NAAC Coordinator Dr. Sudha N Vaidya, 7 committees were formed. Kumar Subrahmanya Bhat of Department of Sanskrit, Dr. Kumaraswamy M of Department of History, Dr. Bharathi Prakash of Department of Microbiology, Dr. Dr. Subrahmanya Bhat of Department of Mathematics, Dr. Shobha of Department of Botany, Dr. Usha of Department of Chemistry and Dr. A Siddiq of Department of Commerce headed various criteria. Dr. Suresh was the IQAC coordinator.

The committee members who visited various departments of the college, Mid-Day meal scheme for students, rain water harvesting, vermicomposting unit, NCC, NSS, sports departments, library appreciated the participation of the students. An interaction was arranged with students, parents and alumni. Through “Avalokanam” students had unveiled their artistic talent.

The college faced NAAC evaluation with the support and guidance of College Development Committee President, Local MLA D. Vedavyasa Kamath, Mangalore University Vice Chancellor Prof. P Subrahmanya Yadapadithaya, Registrar Dr. Kishore Kumar CK, and Registrar (Evaluation) Prof. P L Dharma and others. On the occasion, Principal Dr. Anasuya Rai congratulated all teaching and non-teaching staff and students.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply