BJP releases ZP,TP elections candidates list

8:17 PM, Wednesday, February 3rd, 2016

Bjp ListMangaluru : A former MLA from the BJP is contesting the zilla panchayat election in Dakshina Kannada this time.

The BJP has fielded K. Padmanabha Kottari, who had been elected to the Legislative Assembly in 2004 from the erstwhile Vitla constituency, from Sajipamunnur zilla panchayat constituency, reserved for the general category.

Mr. Kottari was also the lone BJP member in the then 35-member Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat council 15 years ago. He was elected from the Golthamajal constituency in 2000.

Mr. Kottari resigned as member of the zilla panchayat after getting elected as an MLA.

Mr. Kottari was elected president of the Bantwal Taluk Panchayat in 1995-96 and 1999-2000. He was also president of the district unit of the party for three years from 2010.

The BJP released the list of its candidates for the zilla panchayat and taluk panchayat elections in Dakshina Kannada on Tuesday.

The sitting president of the zilla panchayat Asha Thimmappa Gowda (whose term will expire on February 7) has been fielded again this time. The party has fielded her from Guthigar (general) constituency. She had been elected to the council from Bellare (general) constituency five years ago. Ms. Gowda is contesting the election to the zilla panchayat for the third consecutive term.

The party has fielded three former presidents of the panchayat for the February 20 election. It has fielded K.T. Shailaja Bhat (general woman category) from Mani, Koragappa Naik from Dharmasthala (Scheduled Tribe category) and K.P. Sucharitha Shetty from Puttige (general) constituencies.

Harish Moodushedde, a former president of Mangaluru Taluk panchayat, has been fielded from Gurupura Zilla Panchayat constituency.

In addition, former zilla panchayat members Janardhana Gowda, M. Tungappa Bangera, Jayashree Kodandur, Shayana Jayananda and Krishna Shetty have been given ticket. The zilla panchayat council has 36 constituencies.

The party has fielded former vice-president of the zilla panchayat Dhanalakshmi Janardhan for Belthangady Taluk Panchayat from the Dharmasthala constituency.

According to Pratapsimha Nayak, president of the district unit of the party, they had given preference to both old timers and new active workers of the party while giving ticket. The party would give preference to door-to-door campaign, he added.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply