Congress decides to field Vijaykumar Shetty from Mangalore North;Vinaykumar Sorake is Puttur candidate

10:05 AM, Thursday, April 11th, 2013

Vinaykumar Sorake,  Vijaykumar ShettyMangalore : The second list of candidates released by the Congress has the names of Vijaykumar Shetty from Mangalore North, Vinaykumar Sorake from Puttur and MA Gafur from Kaup constituency, Shyamala Bhandari is likely to be the candidate from Kundapur constituency.

It was earlier projected that the Congress would be fielding first timer Kripa Alva from Mangalore North. But this very news sparked dissidence in the party and two other strong aspirants namely Vijaykumar Shetty and Moidin Bava had begun intense lobbying for a party ticket. The supporters of the two leaders were also involved in a scuffle at the Mangalore airport recently when they wanted to meet senior leader Oscar Fernandes.

 In another surprise development, the Congress has decided to field former MP Vinaykumar Sorake from Puttur surprising many as earlier Shakuntala Shetty was projected as the party candidate.

Meanwhile, it will be fielding MA Gafur from Kaup constituency.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply