Congress grants ticket for Shakuntala Shetty from Puttur constituency

11:04 AM, Tuesday, April 16th, 2013

Shakuntala Shetty Puttur constituencyBangalore : Finally, Shakuntala Shetty has bagged a Congress ticket from Puttr assembly constituency after much speculation. She will face Sanjeeva Matandoor of the BJP.

The Congress list of seven candidates was released on April 15, Monday night. Among others who got a ticket are  former minister CM Ibrahim from Bhadravathi. The Congress is yet to announce its candidate from Kaup constituency.

Shakuntala Shetty had won from a BJP ticket from Puttur in the assembly elections of 2004. However, for some unknown reason the BJP denied her a ticket in 2008 elections and instead chose Mallika Prasad. This had forced Shetty to rebel and contest as an independent under the banner of  Swabhimani Vedike of her political mentor Ram Bhat.

However Shetty lost the polls and remained in political oblivion since then. She joined the Congress after the assembly elections were announced.

Simillar Posts

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function similar_posts() in /home/megamcaq/public_html/wp-content/themes/megamediaResponsive/single.php:253 Stack trace: #0 /home/megamcaq/public_html/wp-includes/template-loader.php(106): include() #1 /home/megamcaq/public_html/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/home/megamcaq/...') #2 /home/megamcaq/public_html/index.php(17): require('/home/megamcaq/...') #3 {main} thrown in /home/megamcaq/public_html/wp-content/themes/megamediaResponsive/single.php on line 253