Congress-led UDF wins 72 seats to win Kerala polls by 4 seats

6:38 PM, Friday, May 13th, 2011

Kerala Assembly PollsTiruvananthapuram: In the 140 seat Kerala Assembly House, the Congress led United Democratic Front on Friday managed secure a thin majority of 4 seats (72) in a close battle not seen in 30 years. Thus V.S Achutanandan loses power as CM now.
UDF led by Oommen Chandy obtained 72 seats just crossing the winning post, or the magic figure of 71 seats, as against rival and ruling LDF’s 68. The anti-incumbency trend usually seen in democratic elections here was reflected in 2009 Lok Sabha elections, 2010 civic polls and now 201 Assembly polls. However the beaten CPI (M) top leader VS Achutanandan is 87, even older than next door M. Karunanidhi who had planned to retire in 2011. CPI(M) emerged as the single largest party with 45 seats, to twit to Congress having 38 seats. The Muslim League (in Muslim areas) and Kerala Congress (Mani) in Christian areas contributed to the UDF marginal win this year. BJP was a total flop in Kerala.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply