MLC polls: BJP wins three seats, JD(S) two, Congress one

10:09 PM, Wednesday, June 13th, 2018
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

MLC Bengaluru : BJP has won three out of the six seats in the recently concluded biennial elections to the Karnataka Legislative Council from Graduates’ and Teachers’ Constituencies.

The JD(S) has emerged second by winning two seats, while the Congress has come a distant third by securing just one seat.

Elections to the six seats — three each from the graduates and teachers constituencies — were held on June 8.

While results of South Teachers’ constituency and South East Teachers’ constituency were announced on Tuesday, results in the four other constituencies were delayed as counting went on till wee hours of Wednesday.

The BJP has captured the Bengaluru Graduates’ constituency, South West Graduates’ constituency; and the South East Teachers’ constituency.

In Bengaluru Graduates’ constituency, BJP candidate A Devegowda defeated Congress’s Ramoji Gowda by 3,864 votes. Devegowda polled 16,702 votes, while Gowda bagged 12,838 votes

BJP’s Ayanur Manjunath won the South West Graduates’ constituency by defeating Congress candidate S P Dinesh. Manjunath secured 25,250 votes, while Dinesh polled 16,157 votes.

BJP’s Y A Narayanaswamy, who has unsuccessfully contested from the Hebbal Assembly constituency, has defeated JD(S)’s sitting MLC Ramesh Babu in the South East Teachers’ constituency.

The BJP has, however, recorded a shocking defeat in North-East Graduates constituency.

The Congress registered a surprise win here, with it’s candidate Chandrashekar B Patil beating BJP’s K B Srinivas by a narrow margin if 321 votes.

The Congress has wrested the seat from the BJP, which has held it for the last three decades.

While Patil secured 18,768 votes, Srinivas polled 18,447 votes.

The BJP has also lost the South-West teachers’ constituency as its sitting MLC Capt Ganesh Karnik suffered a defeat to JD(S) candidate S L Bhoje Gowda. Gowda has secured 8,647 votes.

The regional party’s sitting MLC Marithibbe Gowda has retained the South Teachers’ constituency, by defeating his nearest rival M Lakshmana of the Congress.


Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply