Kota Shrinivas Poojary files nominations

4:36 PM, Monday, December 7th, 2015

Kota Srinivas poojaryMangaluru : Kota Shrinivas Poojary from Bharatiya Janata Party and Pratap Chandra Shetty of Congress filed their nominations to the MLC seat from Udupi-Dakshina Kannada local constituency on Monday.

Former MP Jayaprakash Hegde and Bhujang Shetty, both from Congress, also filed their nominations. “We are contesting as the party has denied B form for active party worker and choose Pratap Chandra Shetty, who had expressed interest not to contest elections,” said Mr.Hegde.

Mr. Hegde said they would withdraw their nomination if the party chooses any other person as official candidate. “We want party to hear partymen working at the grassroots.” When pointed that decision has always been taken by party high command, Mr. Hegde said, “this should change. Party workers should be heard,” he said.

Reacting to the developments, Urban Development Minister Vinay Kumar Sorake said the talks were on with Mr. Hegde, Mr.Shetty and with Harikrishna Bantwal, a close confidant of Senior Congress leader B.Janardhana Poojary, who was slated to file nomination. “There will be no rebel candidates. Issue will be resolved,” he said.

Meanwhile, Praveen Chandra Jain from Janata Dallas (secular) also filed his nomination papers today.

Simillar Posts