Mamatha Poojari, Neha chosen for Ekalavya Awards

12:49 PM, Tuesday, August 28th, 2012

Mamatha Poojari, Neha chosen for  Ekalavya AwardsMadikeri: Kabaddi star Mamatha Poojari from Karkala and Neha H, powerlifter from Kumbra in Puttur  are among the several talented sportsmen who have been selected for the Ekalavya Awards given by the state government for the year 2010-2011.

Four sportsmen have been selected for the 2010 awards and 15 for the 2011 awards. Body builder from Mangalore Roshan Ferrao who could not receive the award last year on technical grounds would be presented the award this time. Other recipients include Alemada B Cheeyanna from Kodagu and cricketer Vinay Kumar from Bangalore.

Following a recent High Court judgement, the award announced for Sharanya Mahesh from Mangalore in roller-skating has been withdrawn and  will go to Prajna H A from Mysore. The Ekalavya award carries a cash incentive of Rs 2 lakh. The male sportspersons will receive a set of blazer and tie, women will receive pure silk saris.

The awards will be presented by chief minister Jagadish Shettar at the Banquet Hall of Vidhana Soudha   August 29, Wednesday


Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply