Mangalore Premier League from December 15

11:55 AM, Wednesday, July 22nd, 2015

MPLMangaluru : The Karnataka Regional Cricket Academy and Mangalore Occassionals are planning to have a second edition of Mangalore Premier League between December 15 and 27.

The second edition of MPL is being held after a gap of five years. Matches of MPL, which will feature as many as 10 teams and 200-odd players from Mangaluru, Udupi and Kodagu, will be held at New Mangalore Port Grounds. Talking to reporters here on Tuesday, Manohar Amin, the KSCA zonal convener, said all those playing in the matches will be told of the elaborate conditions prescribed by the Karnataka State Cricket Association that includes betting.

“If any player is caught, KSCA will take tough action,” Mr. Amin said. MPL Organiser and Chairperson of Karnataka Regional Cricket Academy Mohammed Sirajuddin said teams members will be selected from the pool of 700 players currently playing in the A, B and C divisions of KSCA Mangalore Zone.

Each franchisee can bid for a maximum of six ‘A’ grade players, out of pool of 60 such players who will command a base price of Rs. 2,000 and upper limit of Rs. 10,000. Each team can bid for three ‘A’ group players beyond the Rs. 10,000 cap, he said.

Mr. Sirajuddin said as many as 80 players, including a few uncapped ones, will be available for selection under the B and C categories. “While the base price for each player in B category will be Rs. 1,000 and will go up to Rs. 5,000, no price has been fixed for those from C category,” he said.

Mr. Amin said absence of clearance from the KSCA was the reason for the long gap between the first and the second edition of the MPL. Saudi Arabia-based Amaco group will be the title sponsor for the 2{+n}{+d}edition of the MPL.

The ten teams will be from Kundapur, Udupi/Manipal, Karkala/Moodbidri, Surthakal/Mulki, Mangaluru, Bantwal/Belthangady, Puttur/Sullia, Ullal, Madikeri and Virajpet.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply