New IGP takes charge

10:58 AM, Tuesday, May 31st, 2016

New-IGPMangaluru : J. Arun Chakravarthy on Monday took charge as the new Inspector-General of Police (Western Range). He will be the 11th IGP of the Western Range comprising Dakshina Kannada, Uttara Kannada, Udupi and Chikkamagaluru district police units.

Mr. Chakravarthy replaces Amrith Paul, who has been transferred as the Inspector-General of Police (Adminisration) after serving in the Western Range for two years.

Recently, Bhushan Gulabrao Borase took charge as the new Superintendent of Police (Dakshina Kannada) replacing Sharanappa S.D., who has been posted as Deputy Commissioner of Police (South divison), Bengaluru.

Talking to reporters here on Monday, Mr. Chakravathy said that working in the western range was challenging and he was ready for this professionally good assignment.

New-IGPMr. Chakravarthy said that he had a fair knowledge of Dakshina Kannada as he was posted here as a probationary IPS officer in the period between 1996 and 1997.

Mr. Chakravathy said handling issues related to Maoists was nothing new to him as he had dealt with it as Superintendent of Police in Raichur and Shivamogga.

“The issues are the same here. I will have to study the situation here,” he said.

On the issue of mass leave by police personnel on June 4, Mr. Chakravarthy said he will be holding a meeting with all the four SPs of the western range to access the situation and then take necessary steps.

Mr. Chakravarthy, a topper in MA (Sociology) from Bangalore University, belongs to the 1995 batch of IPS.

He was first posted as Assistant Superintendent of Police in Shivamogga.

He worked for three years as Superintendent of Police in Raichur followed by some time in Chitradurga.

He was also worked as an SP in Shivamogga and Bijapur District.

Mr. Chaktravarthy worked as Inspector General of Police in Karnataka Lokayukta and Forest Cell. Before coming to the Western Range, Mr. Chakravarthy was the Inspector General of Police (Central Range).

He has been conferred President’s medal for meritorious service in 2009.

Mr. Chakravarthy has also won in 2003 the United National medal for his role in maintaining peace in Eastern Europe.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply