S. Murugan appointed as new Police Commissioner for District Police Commissionarate

1:58 PM, Thursday, January 1st, 2015

S. MuruganMangaluru : S. Murugan appointed as the new Police Commissioner of Mangaluru Police Commissionerate. He will replace incumbent R. Hithendra, who has been posted as Inspector-General of Police (Police Headquarters).

Apart from Mr. Hithendra, the State government has transferred Deputy Commissioner of Police (Law and Order) K.V. Jagadeesh. Mr. Jagadeesh has been replaced by K. Santosh Babu.

Mr. Murugan, a 1997 batch IPS officer, was holding the post of Deputy Inspector-General of Police, Karnataka State Industrial Security Force.

He was also holding additional charge of Commander of Anti Naxal Force. Mr. Murugan earlier served as Superintendent of Police in Mysuru and Shivamogga. He has also been given the President’s Medal for Meritorious Service.

Mr. Hithendra said he was waiting for orders. He also said that action by police to quickly arrest people following communal clashes in Ullal and Ulaibettu reported during his tenure helped in preventing escalation of tension.

Despite the efforts, he could not get government approval to fill vacant police constable posts.

Udupi’s new SP
K. Annamalai, Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP), Karkala Sub Division, has been promoted and posted as Superintendent of Police (SP) of Udupi district. He will take charge on January 1.

P. Rajendra Prasad, the incumbent SP, who took charge about five months ago, has been transferred as SP (Intelligence), Bengaluru.

An IPS officer of 2011 batch, Mr. Annamalai was posted as ASP of Karkala Sub Division on September 4, 2013, his first posting.

Under him, four police stations in Karkala Sub Division – Karkala Town, Karkala Rural, Kaup and Padubidri – received ISO 9001:2008 certification. He also held additional charge as ASP of Kundapur Sub Division.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply