MLC bypoll : Not backing any candidates; Siddaramaiah

Tuesday, February 11th, 2020

Bengaluru : Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Siddaramaiah on Monday said the party had not discussed supporting the candidature of B R Anil Kumar, a Congressman contesting the upcoming MLC bypoll as an independent against Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi. The JD(S), however, has announced its support to Kumar for the MLC bypoll scheduled to […]

Better halves doing their bit to ensure win for spouses

Friday, April 4th, 2014
Better halves doing their bit to ensure win for spouses

Bangalore: Even as some candidates are out in the battlefield with their nose at the front, the better halves of Nandan Nilekani, Ananth Kumar and Geeta Shivarajkumar, are doing their bit to ensure their respective spouses win in their respective parliamentary constituencies. Compared to Tejaswini Ananth Kumar, Rohini Nilekani is a novice and learning the […]

MCC Bank election results out ; Francic Cutinho group wins majority

Sunday, September 8th, 2013
MCC Bank

Mangalore : The much awaited MCC Bank election results are out. Francis Cutinho led group had won eight out of the 13 posts thus getting a majority. The elections were held on September 7, Saturday. The rest five posts went to the Melwyn D’Cunha led group.  Apart from Francis Cutinho, the others winners are  Dr […]

Assembly elections : 71 candidates in fray in Dakshina Kannada

Sunday, April 21st, 2013
Assembly elections

Mangalore : A total of 71 candidates are in fray for elections to the 8 assembly constituencies in DK district. A total of 15 candidates withdrew their nomination on April 20, Saturday  which was the last date for withdrawal of nominations. The highest number of 15 candidates are in Mangalore Assembly constituency. There are six […]

Mangalore City Corporation Candidates Winning Victory

Monday, March 11th, 2013

MCC poll campaign : Candidates woo voters in every possible way

Wednesday, March 6th, 2013
MCC poll campaign

Mangalore : Campaigning for the elections to the Mangalore City Corporation ended  after a hectic spree of door-to door visits by candidates and leaders of various parties in their bid to woo the voters and rise to power in the Mangalore City Corporation. There were no banners and buntings thanks to the election code of […]

NSUI presence in Udupi Congress Campaign

Friday, March 16th, 2012

Udupi: The Campaigning at Udupi and Chikkamagalur districts for the by-polls to a Lok Sabha seat on May 18, ends tonight, when the voting is hardly 60 hours away now. The 3 parties and ten other candidates have made a battleground out of that area for no specific reason other than prestige, as the winner […]

Voting smooth in 3 by-polls, but low (48-51%)

Sunday, April 10th, 2011
Karnataka By Election

Bangalore: Voting was dull on the morning hours of Saturday, in the 3 constituencies going to by-polls under Operation Lotus, at Channapatna, Jagalur and Bangarpet which had assumed an aura of prestige fights. There were 33 candidates for 3 seats (8 in Jagalur, 15 in Channapatna and 10 in Bangarpet) with 5 lakh voters exercising […]

Door-to-door canvassing in the last 48 hours axed: CEC

Monday, February 14th, 2011

Bangalore: The Central Election Commission meeting here has taken the important and significant step of ruling out canvassing for votes from door to door 48 hours before the General Elections. The a programme arranged by Union Law and Justice Ministry, and CEO together to conduct regional discussions, before August2011, the Chief Election Commissioner S.Y.Quraishi gave […]

ZP/TP election to be held with preparation: DC

Thursday, December 30th, 2010
DC Subodh Yadav in the press meet

Mangalore : DC Subodh Yadav in the press meet held at the court hall on Dec 30, Thursday said that altogether 215 candidates had filed the nomination for Zilla Panchayath election and 575 for Taluk Panchayath election and after verification only 188  for ZP election and 533 for TP election. He also said that, after […]