13 disqualified MLAs to get BJP bypoll ticket

Friday, November 15th, 2019

Bengaluru : A day after the Supreme Court said the disqualified Congress-JD(S) MLAs can contest the December 5 byelections, the BJP promptly awarded tickets to 13 of the 16 former legislators who joined the party on Thursday. Chief minister BS Yediyurappa called new colleagues “future MLAs and ministers”, indicating they will walk into the cabinet […]

Disqualified MLAs move Supreme Court for postponement of Dec 5 assembly bypolls

Friday, November 8th, 2019

New Delhi : The disqualified Karnataka MLAs moved the Supreme Court on Friday, seeking further postponement of the Assembly bypolls which are scheduled to take place on December 5. A bench headed by Justice N V Ramana on October 25 had reserved its verdict on a batch of petitions filed by the 17 MLAs, challenging […]

Minister V Somanna : Disqualified MLAs should be treated with respect

Monday, September 30th, 2019

Bengaluru : A day after senior party MLA Umesh Katti said that the disqualified MLAs will have to find their way, Minister V Somanna on Monday said disqualified MLAs have sacrificed for us and they should be treated with respect. Addressing presspersons V Sommanna said that BJP leaders should value the sacrifice made by the […]

Karnataka HC issues notice to speaker on 5 disqualified MLAs.

Tuesday, November 2nd, 2010
Chief Justice Kehar

Bangalore: Five Independent MLAs (Ministers later on) who withdrew their support to CM Yeddyurappa on Oct.5 and were disqualified by speaker K.G Bopaiah last week, have challenged the order in Karnataka High Court. The Chief Justice Kehar, has referred the matter to a bench of 3 Judges, which then issued legal notice to the speaker. […]