66.25% voter tournout in Karnataka bypolls to 15 constituencies

Thursday, December 5th, 2019

Bengaluru : The re elections to 15 constituencies across Karnataka were held on Thursday, including 4 constituencies from capital city Bengaluru. The results, which will be out on December 9, will decide the fate of the four-month-old Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa-led BJP government. The voter turnout, according to Election Commission of India statistics, 66.25 […]

Karnataka bypolls : Election Commission seizes 53 pressure cookers from Hoskote

Tuesday, November 19th, 2019

Bengaluru :  The Election Commission flying squad conducted a raid in poll-bound Hoskote in Bangalore Rural district and seized 53 pressure cookers from a house. As per the sources the raid was conducted on Monday, November 18 after receiving information that the cookers were being distributed to the voters and are being stored in a […]

B S Yediyurappa gives up on Roshan Baig, says can’t give him ticket

Friday, November 15th, 2019

Bengaluru : Seven-time legislator R Roshan Baig has been left deserted as Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa made it public on Friday that the BJP will not give him a ticket to contest the upcoming Karnataka bypolls on December 5. Baig, the Congress rebel who has been disqualified, was hoping to be inducted into the […]

Karnataka bypolls : Congress’s 2nd list of contestants on Nov 13 says Congress chief

Monday, November 11th, 2019

Bengaluru : The Karnataka Congress chief Dinesh Gundu Rao on Sunday said the second list of candidates for assembly byelections would be announced on November 13 after the Supreme Court verdict on the disqualified MLAs. The Congress had released the first list of eight candidates on October 31. The decision on the second list of […]

Karnataka bypolls: Congress storms JD-S bastion, wins two LS seats

Saturday, August 24th, 2013
Karnataka bypolls

Bangalore: Storming the JD-S bastion, the ruling Congress in Karnataka on Saturday won the Mandya and Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha seats with impressive margins.  Multi-lingual actress Ramya, making her electoral debut, trounced JD(S) candidate C S Puttaraju in Mandya by a margin of 67,611 votes, officials said. In Bangalore Rural, D K Suresh (Cong) registered […]

Gowda claims no JDS-BJP tie up for Karnataka bypolls

Tuesday, August 6th, 2013

Bangalore : Former prime minister and Janata Dal-Secular president H.D. Deve Gowda Monday denied his party had entered into a tie-up to fight the Aug 21 bypolls to two Lok Sabha seats from Karnataka. “Reports of a tie up or understanding with the Bharatiya Janata Party are baseless,” he told reporters here. However, the ruling […]