Lok Sabha election awareness marathon

Monday, April 1st, 2019

Mangaluru : The Dakshina Kannada Sveep Committee organised an 18-km marathon in the city on Sunday to create awareness that Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency will be electing its MP on April 18 and those aged above 18 should exercise their franchise in the upcoming election. The marathon was attended by Deputy Commissioner Sasikanth Senthil, […]

Fishermen decided to boycott Lok Sabha election

Wednesday, March 13th, 2019

Malpe: The government has failed to take the missing deep sea trawler Suvarna Tribhuja case seriously and ignored the fishermen alleged the families of two of the missing fishermen and have decided to boycott the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. 88 days have passed since the deep sea trawler Suvara Tribhuja left port from Malpe along […]

Christa Okkoota demands Ivan D’Souza to contest Lok Sabha election

Thursday, August 2nd, 2018
Ivan D souza

Udupi : The Udupi Zilla Christa Okkoota has urged the Congress high command to consider fielding Ivan D’Souza, MLC, as the party’s candidate for Udupi-Chikkamgaluru Lok Sabha constituency, in the polls. Addressing presspersons here on Wednesday, Nery Carnelio, president of district unit of International Federation of Karnataka Christian Associations, said that there were about 25 […]

Shivaraj Kumar Says No To Politics

Wednesday, December 3rd, 2014

Bengaluru : Dr Rajkumar’s popularity in Karnataka could have made him win any election. But the legend always refused to get involved in politics, saying that politics was not his profession, he was just an artiste. Perhaps this is why almost all his family members have stayed away from active politics so far. However, Shivaraj […]

Campaigning for by-polls to 3 Assembly seats ends

Wednesday, August 20th, 2014
BY Raghavendra

Bangalore: Campaigning for the August 21 Karnataka Assembly by-polls for three constituencies in which the ruling Congress has invested much prestige after its unimpressive Lok Sabha election performance, ended Tuesday evening. The Siddaramaiah government has spared no effort mobilising men and resource to retain the Chikkodi-Sadalga seat while eyeing to wrest Shikaripura and Bellary Rural […]

AAP Mangalore unit sees mass resignations by founders

Sunday, July 20th, 2014
Aam Aami Party

Mangalore : The Aam Aami Party around 18 office bearers of the Dakshina Kannada unit of AAP announced their mass resignations on Saturday alleging that the party was lacking internal democracy and its leaders were removed from ground realities. “When AAP was launched its philosophy met our aspirations as it promised to represent the interest […]

KPCC chief rules out change in leadership

Saturday, April 19th, 2014
G Parameshwar

Bangalore : Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president G. Parameshwara on Friday ruled out a change in leadership in the State after the Lok Sabha election results are out. Exuding confidence that the Congress would win at least 20 of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, Dr. Parameshwara said the elections should not be seen […]

DK polls 62.16% voting in DK till 5 pm

Thursday, April 17th, 2014
DK polls 62.16% voting in DK till 5 pm

Mangalore : Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency has registered over 60 per cent of polling on April 17, Thursday at 4.20pm. While the polling in Beltangady is 64.10%, Moodbidri 63.28 %, Mangalore North 56.55%, Mangalore South 58.49%, Mangalore (Ullal) 59.23%, Bantwal 55.35%, Puttur 69.84% and Sullia 72.23%. The contesting candidates from Dakshina Kannada Constituency are […]

DK polls 60% voting in DK till 3pm

Thursday, April 17th, 2014
Lok Sabha election

Mangalore : Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency has registered over 60 per cent of polling on April 17, Thursday at 3pm. While the polling in Beltangady is 57%, Moodbidri 55%, Mangalore North 58%, Mangalore South 54%, Mangalore (Ullal) 54%, Bantwal 62%, Puttur 68% and Sullia 63%. The contesting candidates from Dakshina Kannada Constituency are B […]

Security tightened up on a day before election polling in city

Wednesday, April 16th, 2014
Lok sabha Election

Mangalore : Just a day before the Lok Sabha elections polling day, the election duty officers are on in full swing with mustering procedures and official’s allotment at Canara School, Mannagudda on April 16, Wednesday. As per the instruction of the Polling officers, all the booth-level officers, presiding officers (PROs), and assistant presiding officers (APROs) […]