Four achievers of Special Olympics given a rousing welcome

1:09 PM, Friday, July 8th, 2011

Special Olympic wiinnersMangalore: Asha Jyothi organization and other donors welcomed the four achievers of special Olympics held at Athens, Greece at KSTRC on July 8, Friday.
Special Olympic wiinersThe winners like Pramila Pinto, a student of Manasa Rehabilitation and Training Centre, Pamboor who has bagged 1 gold and 1 bronze in roller skating, Dhanya S Rao, student of Chethana Special School who has bagged 2 gold medal in roller skating, Roystan Pinto, student of St Agnes Special School who has bagged 1 gold in roller skating and Anil Mendonca of St Agnes Special School, who has bagged one bronze in Volleyball were given a warm welcome and taken in procession in a open vehicle from KSTRC to PVS.
Speaking on the occasion, ZP president Shailaja Bhat said that the special students of Dakshina Kannada and Udupi have made an achievement in the Olympics and became the role model for other special kids. The district will honour and hand over awards these kids, she added.
Mayor Praveen Anchan said that Mangalore City Corporation will honour these students with the amount of Rs 50,000 each.  They will be given grand felicitation on July 18, Monday, he said.
Deputy Mayor Geetha Nayak, Former Mayor Shashidhar Hegde, Suresh Ballal, parents and coach of the winners were present on the occasion.
Later these students were honoured in the Chethana Special School by the school management.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply