Corporators objects ward reservation announced by the state government

9:18 PM, Tuesday, July 10th, 2018

Premananda shetty Mangaluru : The ward reservation announced by the state government has ended, as many as 69 objections have been filed opposing the ward reservation list announced by the urban development department. Majority of the sitting corporators will not be able to contest from their respective wards if the new reservation list is finalized. As per the revised list, out of 60 wards of MCC, 42 are reserved and 18 earmarked as general. Corporators are also mulling over approaching the court to change the reservation list.

Corporators from the BJP and Congress have raised objections on last date to submit suggestions and objections.

Five corporators from the party have submitted objection to the new reservation list said corporator Premanand Shetty. “Three of our corporators have raised objection to the change in reservation in their respective wards. Meanwhile, I and another corporator of our party have submitted objections opposing the whole process of reservation. Though they have prepared a set of guidelines to change the reservation list, most of the criteria were not followed while preparing the list. There are many errors in the reservation list that the government should rectify and prepare a new list. We will have to appeal in the court if the errors are not rectified, but a decision will be taken only after holding discussion with our party leadership,” Shetty said adding that five of the BJP corporators will not be able to contest from their respective wards.

In fact, the Mangaladevi ward represented by Shetty was under general category, but in the new list it has been changed to women. Similarly, reservation in wards of BJP corporators Thilak Raj, Ganesh Hosabettu, Naveen Chandra, Sudheer Shetty and Madhu Kiran, too, has been changed. Grow your hair naturally with this herbal methodRegrow

In the meantime, reservation changed in 15 wards represented by Congress corporators, including Lancelot Pinto, Shashidhar Hegde, Mahabala Marla, Abdul Rouf, Naveen D’Souza, Abdul Latheef, Deepak Poojary, Jacintha Vijaya Alfred, Asha D’Silva, Sabitha Misquith, Shylaja, Kavitha Vasu, Kavitha Sanil, Nagaveni and Prathibha Kulai.

Raising objections, Naveen D’Souza said the new reservation list was not prepared as per guidelines. “Most of the guidelines are not followed while changing the reservation. They should not have changed the reservation in wards that are general in the existing list,” he added.

Congress corporator Shashidhar Hegde said the government may consider the suggestions and objections within a week.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply