Diwakar Pandeshwar new mayor of Mangaluru City Corporation

12:09 PM, Saturday, February 29th, 2020

Diwakar Mangaluru: BJP’s Diwakar Pandeshwar has been elected as the new mayor and Janaki Vedavathi from BJP  elected as deputy mayor of Mangaluru City Corporation.

The mayoral election was a two-way contest between Pandeshwar, corporator from Cantonment ward, and Congress’s Keshav, the corporator from Maroli ward.

Voting was conducted by a simple show of hands. 46 votes were in favour of Pandeshwar and 15 for Keshav.

The deputy mayor’s post too was won by the BJP. Janaki Vedavathi from BJP and Zeenat Samshuddin from Congress were contesting the post.

MPs Vedvyas Kamath and Dr Bharat Shetty, MLA Ivan D’Souza too voted in the election. MP Nalin Kumar Kateel was absent.

The election was conducted in the presence of Mysuru Division Regional Commissioner, V Yashwant, Deputy Regional Commissioner K M Gayatri, Dakshina Kannada Deputy Commissioner Sindhu B Rupesh, Additional Deputy Commissioner M J Roopa and Municipal Commissioner Shanadi Ajith Kumar Hegde.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply