Yeddyurappa shifts deadline to Jan 15

7:40 PM, Friday, January 4th, 2013
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Yeddyurappa Bangalore: The much-publicised threat to topple the first BJP government in the south by the newly formed Karnataka Janata Party of B S Yeddyurappa turned out to be a damp squib as the maiden meeting of the former Chief Minister’s outfit on Friday postponed the deadline to January 15.

Contrary to Yeddyurappa’s claims that his party would decide the fate of Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar ministry today, the meeting failed to arrive at a decision.

Leaders who participated in the meeting, including around 15 BJP MLAs, urged the party not to allow the BJP government to continue in office “for even a second”. A resolution was also moved, urging KJP to withdraw its support to the government.

Speaking to reporters in the midst of the meet, Yeddyurappa said a decision on bringing down the government would be taken on January 15 and declared that his party would not allow Shettar to present the state budget in February.

To a question, Yeddyurappa said as many as 14 to 15 BJP legislators were present at the meeting. “There are more than 40 to 50 MLAs and ministers who are ready to join KJP. They will join at an appropriate time,” he said.

Yeddyurappa said it was wrong to claim that KJP is formed by rebel BJP leaders and pointed out that leaders from various political parties have joined the party.

“BR Patil and Jabbar Khan Honalli from the Congress and Micheal Fernandes from JD-U have joined my party,” he said.

Yeddyurappa said he would hold two separate conventions at Nanjangud and Shimoga on January 11 or 12 and January 31.

He also said he would complete his state-wide tour of 50 assembly constituencies by February 15.

Meanwhile, speaking to reporters, Shettar dismissed any threat to his government and said he would present his budget as planned.

To counter the KJP’s plans, BJP government has convened a meeting of its Core Committee here tomorrow, in which party National General Secretary Dharmendra Pradhan and Anantkumar will participate.



Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply