Rosary Cathedral centenary celebrations begins from April 9

11:50 PM, Tuesday, April 7th, 2015

Rosary CathedralMangaluru : Our Lady of the Holy Rosary Cathedral, famously referred to as Rosario Cathedral at Bolara in Mangaluru will be completing 100 years this year and centenary celebrations will be held from April 9 to 12.

Rosario Church Parish Priest Rev Fr J B Crasta said the original Church was established in 1568, but was destroyed in 1695 during conflicts between Portuguese and Arab merchants. Though devotees put up another church, that too, was destroyed by Tipu Sultan in 1784. The present building was built in 1915, under the guidance of Fr Henry Buzzoni and Brother Divo.

Fr Crasta said the Church Patroness is Mother Rosary, who is revered by the devotees of Coastal Karnataka as Ruzar Mai. Mangaluru Catholic Diocesan Bishop’s seat exists in the cathedral. The word Cathedral originates from the Latin word Cathdrel, meaning, ‘the seat’, he explained.

The church is a mix of Byzantine and Roman architectures. The church is built on the model of St Peter’s Basilica of Rome, he said adding that Rosario Cathedral is the only cathedral with a dome, among churches under Mangalore Catholic Diocese, which comprises Mangalore and Udupi districts.

Another unique feature of the Church is an inscription by the Portuguese ruler Padrovado, to establish that the church was under his rule.

Fr J B Crasta said Holy Eucharist for the departed Bishops, Pastors and Lay faithful will be held on April 9 at 5.30 pm. Mangalore Bishop Rev Dr Aloysius Paul D’Souza will be the main celebrant. Vocation Day will be held on April 10 at 5.30 pm. Mangalore Bishop will be the main celebrant on that day too. Parish Day will be held on April 11 at 4.30 pm. The main celebrant will be Bareilly Bishop Rev Dr Ignatius D’Souza. On April 12, the holy Eucharist will be held at 4.30 pm. Mangalore Bishop will be the main celebrant, Udupi Bishop Rev Dr Gerald Isaac Lobo will be the Homily, Belthangady Bishop Rev Dr Lawrance Mukkuzhy, Belagavi Bishop Rev Dr Peter Machado, Gulbarga Bishop Rev Dr Robert M Miranda, Bellary Bishop Rev Dr Henry D’Souza, Shimoga Bishop Rev Francis Serrao and Bareilly Bishop Rev Dr Ignatius D;Souza will be the co-celebrants.

The valedictory of the centenary celebrations will be held on April 12 at 6 pm.

Mangalore Bishop will preside over the programme, Diocese of Mangalore Vicar General Rev Msgr Denis Moras Prabhu, Society of Jesus Provincial Rev Fr Stanislaus D’Souza, Apostolic Carmel Superior General Rev Sr Mary Susheela AC, Ursuline Franciscan Sisters Superior General Rev Sr Doreen D’Souza and former MLC Octavia Albuquerque will be the chief guests. Ministers B Ramanath Rai, U T Khader, Rajya Sabha MP Oscar Fernandes, MP Nalin Kumar Kateel and others will be the guests of honour. Felicitations, release of souvenir and a sound and light programme will be held.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply