Sadananda Gowda sworn in as Karnataka CM

5:33 PM, Thursday, August 4th, 2011

Sadananda Gowda sworn in as Karnataka CMBangalore: DV Sadananda Gowda has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Thursday. The swearing-in ceremony took place at 4.30 PM with Governor HR Bhardwaj administering the oath of office and secrecy to Gowda.
But the swearing-in ceremony also brought to the fore differences within the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as Jagadish Shettar, who lost to Gowda in the voting to elect the new chief minister following BS Yeddyurappa’s resignation, skipping the swearing-in ceremony.
Sadananda Gowda sworn in as Karnataka CMThe 58-year-old Gowda had in fact gone to Shettar’s home on Thursday morning after the pro-shettar faction threatened to boycott the swearing-in ceremony.
However, Gowda’s other rivals Ananth Kumar and BJP state president KS Eshwarappa attending the swearing-in ceremony
Gowda decided to advance his swearing-in by a day, in view of President Pratibha Patil’s three-day visit to Bangalore starting from August 5.
A Vokkaliga by caste, Gowda is a Yeddyurappa loyalist and a Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh man. He is two-time MLA and two-time Lok Sabha MP.
Gowda was Karnataka state BJP president from 2007-2010 but he had never been a minister in the state government.
Yeddyurappa had to resign following allegations against him in the Lokayukta report on illegal mining.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply