Sandesha Awards presented to 9 outstanding personalities

12:24 PM, Monday, January 28th, 2013

Sandesha AwardsMangalore : Nine achievers received Sandesha Awards 2013 at a glittering function held at the premises of the Sandesha Foundation for Culture and Education.

Fr Henry D’Souza, Bishop of Bellary and Pratap Reddy, IGP of Western range, who were the chief guests, presented the awards to the achievers. Those who received the awards are Vijay Kumar Kodialbail (Tulu literature), Jayalakshmi Alva (art),  Leo D’Souza (Konkani literature), Kumbara Veerabhadrappa (Kannada literature), N Arjun Dev (journalism), Hamsalekha (cinema/TV), Dr K E Radhakrishna (best teacher) and Fr Valerian Mendonca (Konkani music). A Special Recognition Award was presented to U C Paulose of Seon Ashram Trust. Each award carries a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and a citation.

Speaking on the occasion, IGP Pratap Reddy said art and culture can be preserved only when talents and achievers were honoured. Sandesha has done a good job in this regard and also urged the society to encourage creativity.

Bishop Henry D’Souza  and all the nine awardees spoke on the occasion. Roy Castelino, P M Castelino and Fr Jayanathan, Dr Na D’Souza, chairman of the Sandesha Awards committee, Director of Sandesh Foundation Fr Victor Vijay Lobo  and others were present.

There was a cultural presentation by students of Vidyajyothi High School, Vamanjoor and St Jerosa School.


Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply