Mangaluru will witness MPL second edition

1:40 PM, Monday, August 3rd, 2015

MPLMangaluru : It was a high profile launch, for Mangalore Premier League (MPL) 2.0 hen it raised its ’logo’ for Kudla at a ceremony held at partner mall of the event – Forum Fiza Mall on August 2 evening.

The organizers Karnataka Regional Cricket Academy, launch the theme song titled Amaco MPL T20 Mangalore Premier League and NMPT ground at Panambur will be the venue where MPL second edition is to be bowled over in December 2015.

Last edition was witness in 2010 and this one is revived after five years, 12 teams from Dakshina Kannada and Udupi compete for honours. MPL second edition was launched by minister for sports, youth empowerment and fisheries K Abhayachandra Jain, Mangalore city MLAs J R Lobo. MLA B A Mohiuddin Bawa,is the owner of Bedra Bulls while U T Khader another MLA is the owner of Team United, Ullal out of the twelve teams.

After the logo launch organisers gave an MPL T-Shirts to all the dignitaries who were at the ceremony. Cricketers from Mangaluru zone of Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) who have played in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) including Nishith Raj, Ritesh Bhatkal, Sinan Abdul Khader, Nihal Ullal, Darshan Machaiah, Bharath Dhuri, Nithin Mulki and Mashooq Hussain.were felicitated. The zone consists of DK, Udupi and Kodagu districts.

Both Nihal and Sinan strongly express their opinion that much needed boost to local cricket who can use this event as a perfect launch pad to showcase their wares at the KPL, and possibly in the cash rich Indian Premier League. Sinan said the league will also create a desire among the local cricketers to make it to KPL and also to IPL. It was expressed one day these local players, may also possibly wear the Indian colours at the Test, ODI and T20 level.

Jain, expressed concern that there is unbalanced representation of the teams. Though it was heartening to note twelve teams will play and fight it out for the title
MPL task is cut out to enthuse entrepreneurs from Sullia, Belthangady, and other parts of Udupi and Kodagu. There are four teams from Moodbidri.

Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply