Thaawarchand Gehlot appointed as Karnataka Governor

Tuesday, July 6th, 2021

Bengaluru : Union Minister Thaawarchand Gehlot was on Tuesday appointed as Karnataka Governor and Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel was named as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh, according to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communiqué. Gehlot (73), Union Minister of Social Justice & Empowerment, is a prominent Dalit leader. He served as the Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment […]

PB Acharya of Udupi appointed Nagaland Gov

Tuesday, July 15th, 2014
PB Acharya

New Delhi : Padmanabha Balakrishna (PB) Acharya was appointed as the Governor of Nagaland Monday. According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communiqué, PB Acharya will also discharge the functions of the Governor of Tripura, in addition to his own duties, until regular arrangements for the office of the Governor of Tripura. It has also been learnt […]

Narendra Modi Sworn In as India’s 15th Prime Minister

Tuesday, May 27th, 2014
modi sowrn In

New Delhi: Narendra Damodar Modi, 63, took oath as India’s Prime Minister on Monday evening. Almost 4000 people were present at the ceremony held in the forecourt of the magnificent Rashtrapati Bhavan. Lakhs more, including Mr Modi’s mother, watched on television. Minutes after he was sworn in a new website of the Prime Minister’s Office […]

Sachin Tendulkar, CNR Rao receive Bharat Ratna

Tuesday, February 4th, 2014

New Delhi: Sachin Tendulkar notched up another prestigious first when he joined the list of the nation’s Bharat Ratnas today. The President awarded him and noted scientist Professor CNR Rao with India’s highest civilian honour at a ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Sachin is the first sportsman to be given the honour; he beat hockey […]

President Commuted Death Penalty Of 23 To Life During Her Tenure

Wednesday, February 22nd, 2012
president pratibha patil

New Delhi : President Pratibha Patil, it seems, has been the most merciful of all presidents during the last three decades as she has commuted death sentences of 23 petitioners to life imprisonment during her tenure, which is over 90 per cent of the total pardon granted since 1981.  On February 9, she accepted the […]

No more reshuffle; this is it till 2014 polls: PM

Tuesday, July 12th, 2011
Manmohan singh

New Delhi : In a surprise statement, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said Tuesday’s resuffle of his Council of Ministers is the last before the Lok Sabha polls in 2014, but two slots have been kept vacant for the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam as part of “coalition dharma”. Talking to media persons after the swearing-in of the […]