Shobha kept filing of nominations under wraps till last minute

Thursday, March 20th, 2014
Shobha Karandlaje

Udupi : BJP candidate for Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency, Shobha Karandlaje, created a flutter by filing her nominations on the very first day on Wednesday. The last date to file the nominations is March 26. She filed the papers before Deputy Commissioner Dr Muddu Mohan, who is also the returning officer. The whole issue was […]

State BJP’s second list creates rift in party

Thursday, March 13th, 2014

Bangalore: The State BJP has recommended to the party’s central election committee that former minister Shobha Karandlaje be fielded from the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency, former minister and MPCH Vijayashankar from Hassan and journalist PratapSimha from Mysore. The State election committee, which met in Bangalore on Wednesday to finalise candidates for eight Lok Sabha constituencies, […]

BJP to field DVS in B’lore North

Tuesday, March 4th, 2014

Bangalore: The BJP has reportedly decided to field former chief minister D.V.Sadananda Gowda from the Bangalore North constituency. This puts to rest the deadlock over the selection of the candidate for the seat, as there were a number of aspirants. The BJP central leadership took the decision in consultation with the State unit. dvs 1While […]

BJP may field no woman this LS poll in State

Tuesday, February 11th, 2014

Bangalore: The State BJP may draw a blank when it comes to giving tickets to women candidates for the forthcoming LokSabha polls. The only woman aspirant Shobha Karandlaje on Monday reiterated that she is not willing to contest from any other constituency than Bangalore North. However, sources said the party leadership is unlikely to heed […]

BS Yeddyurappa appoints Shobha Karandlaje as working president of his party

Saturday, August 31st, 2013
Shobha Karandlaje

Bangalore: Karnataka Janata Paksha chief BS Yeddyurappa today installed his close associate and former minister Shobha Karandlaje as working president of the party. Ms Karandlaje, who had served as Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister and later as Energy Minister in the Yeddyurappa government, had quit the BJP last December. KJP won only six seats […]

People of Karnataka will never forgive BJP for kicking out Yeddyurappa : Shobha

Thursday, June 6th, 2013
Shobha Karandlaje

Puttur :  KJP leader and former minister Shobha Karandlaje has put an end to all speculations by  stating that so far there has been no talks regarding merger of KJP with BJP or of any understanding between the two parties. Speaking to reporters after visiting Puttur Sri Mahalingeshwara Temple on June 5, Wednesday, she said […]

Taught BJP a lesson, says Shobha

Friday, May 10th, 2013
Shobha Karandlaje

Bangalore : Former minister Shobha Karandlaje, who lost the poll battle to S Suresh Kumar of the BJP in the Rajajinagar constituency, said the KJP was only six-month-old and could have done better if it had got more time to reach the nook and corner of the State. The BJP had made baseless allegations against […]

Parameshwara, KSE bite the dust

Thursday, May 9th, 2013
defeated candidates

Bangalore : Two chief ministerial candidates were defeated this election: KPCC president G Parameshwara and BJP’s deputy chief minister KS Eshwarappa. Parameshwara’s was the biggest upset for the Congress, despite the party getting an absolute majority. Sudhakar Lal of the JD(S) trounced him by a margin of 18,155 votes in Koratagere , in Tumkur district. […]

Shobha against Renuka’s induction into KJP

Saturday, March 30th, 2013
Shobha Karandlaje

Davangere : Even as former minister M P Renukacharya on Friday announced that he would soon join the Karnataka Janatha Party (KJP) at a massive rally to be attended by 60,000 of his supporters, senior party leaders, including former minister Shobha Karandlaje, have reportedly opposed his entry into the party. Addressing presspersons here, the expelled BJP […]

Shobha mam, Dhananjay sir teach poll rules to KJP men

Tuesday, March 26th, 2013
Shobha Dhananjay

Bangalore : KJP candidates for the Assembly polls, whose names figured in the first list released recently by party president B S Yeddyurappa, turned “students” for a few hours on Monday. While V Dhananjaya Kumar sir (KJP campaign committee chairman) took the candidates through various nuances and formalities  of electoral politics, Shobha Karandlaje madam (former […]