Manjeshwar assembly by-poll : UDF candidate Khamaruddin wins by majority

2:39 PM, Thursday, October 24th, 2019

UDFKasargod : UDF has retained the Manjeshwar legislative constituency by winning the seat over strong BJP rival. UDF candidate Khamaruddin won by 7,923 votes.

In 2016, UDF candidate had won by a slender margin of 89 votes. This time around the winning margin is increased considerably. UDF candidate M C Khamaruddin defeated his nearest rival Kuntau Ravish Tantry of BJP. M Shankar Rai, who contested on LDF ticket had to be satisfied with the third spot.

M C Kamaruddin secured 65,407 votes, NDA’s candidate Raveesh Thantri Kuntar bagged 57,484, and LDF’s M Shankar Rai Master secured 38,233 votes.

UDF members started celebration at Uppala, Kumble, Manjeshwar, and Seethangoli town, said sources.

The counting of votes took place at the government school of Paivalike on the morning of Thursday, October 24. Khamaruddin took lead right from the beginning. Though in the next few rounds, he was behind the BJP candidate, in some further rounds, he regained the lead and ultimately won the battle.

The counting of vote took place in 17 rounds. This bye-election was held due to the death of former UDF MLA P B Abdul Razak.


Simillar Posts

Leave a Reply