Government appointed new chairman for Yakshagana Academy

Thursday, January 13th, 2022

Mangaluru : The State Government  appointed G. L. Hegde Manaki, Kumta, Uttara Kannada, as the chairman of Karnataka Yakshagana Academy. The office of the chairman was vacant following the demise of M.A. Hegde, who headed it, on April 18, 2021. The Government has appointed a new chairman after eight months since the post fell vacant. […]

Yakshagana Academy will appoint new president soon

Tuesday, December 7th, 2021
Sunil Kumar

Mangaluru : Kannada and Culture Minister V Sunil Kumar said that the president of Yakshagana Academy will be appointed soon after the Council elections. Owing to the model code of conduct, the president could not be appointed. Steps will be taken to appoint the president on a priority basis after the model code of conduct […]

Yakshagana Academy presents annual awards

Monday, November 9th, 2020

Mangaluru : Karnataka Yakshagana Academy presented its annual Honorary Award, Yaksha Siri Award, and Book Award for 2019 to achievers from Dakshina Kannada at a function in the city on Sunday. The Honorary Award was presented to Chandrashekar Damle, a resident of Sullia in Dakshina Kannada and who is a doctorate degree holder from Pune […]

Idgunji Troupe felicitates chairman of Yakshagana Academy on Monday

Monday, July 11th, 2011

Mangalore: The need for a University on Yakshagana (as an art in practice) was stressed upon, for Bayalata/ Yakshagana, on the lines of Folk Arts University sanctioned by Karnataka Govt., by Kumble Sunder Rao, a Celebrated artist and head of Yakshagana Academy. He was felicitated on Monday at the Town Hall, during a programme called […]

Pt Lakshminarayana Bhat honoured in memory of Samaga Brothers

Saturday, May 7th, 2011
Samaga Brothers

Mangalore : A special programme to felicitate Pandit Lakshminarayana Bhat, was held at Sri Krishna Kalyana Mantapa on May 7, Saturday. The felicitation was conferred on Pandit Lakshminarayana Bhat, chief priest of Lakshminarayana Temple near PVS in order to celebrate the birth anniversary of Malpe Ramadas Samaga and Shankar Narayan Samaga popularly known as ‘Samaga […]